Can you name every player from the PFA Team of the Year in 1996-97?


Chelsea and Tottenham each have four representatives in this season’s PFA Team of the Year – but can you name the XI from 20 years ago?

Chelsea quartet Gary Cahill, David Luiz, N’Golo Kante and Eden Hazard are joined by Tottenham’s Kyle Walker, Danny Rose, Dele Alli and Harry Kane in the latest team, revealed today, with Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane completing the XI.

United lead the way in terms of representatives over the last 10 years, with 25, but Chelsea (19) and Tottenham (15) are now second and third ahead of Arsenal (12) and Liverpool (10).

Your challenge, however, is to name the Team of the Year from the 1996-97 season when Sir Alex Ferguson’s United won their fourth Premier League title ahead of Newcastle United, Arsenal and Liverpool.

Head to our Quiz section for more brainteasers, including a challenge to name the first ever PFA Premier League Team of the Year

Promoted Stories