Postecoglou and Arteta have similar records

Ranking every Premier League manager by their points per game record: Postecoglou above Arteta…

From Pep Guardiola and Jurgen Klopp to Vincent Kompany and Rob Edwards, we have ranked every current Premier League manager by their overall points per game record in the top flight.

Unsurprisingly, it’s the Manchester City boss who comes out on top. Since arriving in England back in 2016, Guardiola has averaged a whopping 2.33 points per game in the Premier League.

That’s an average of 89 points per season and looking at those numbers, it’s no surprise that City have managed to win five of the last six league titles.

Klopp is the only other Premier League boss who comes anywhere close to matching Guardiola. The Liverpool manager has collected 2.12 points per game which is an average of 81 points over a full season.

Ange Postecoglou and Mikel Arteta make up the rest of the top four, with the Tottenham boss boasting a slightly better record than his Arsenal counterpart.

Since taking the Spurs job, Postecoglou has collected 1.9 points per game which is slightly better than Arteta’s record of 1.88. Of course, the sample size of matches is much smaller for Postecoglou which goes in his favour.

Unai Emery takes the fifth spot on this ranking as he boasts a better Premier League record than the likes of Erik ten Hag, Mauricio Pochettino and Roberto De Zerbi.

Given that David Moyes has managed 680 Premier League games, it’s some going that he manages to come ninth in this overall ranking.

The West Ham boss has averaged 1.43 points per game throughout his tenure in the top flight which is an average of 54 points per season.

Slightly lower down the list is Newcastle boss Eddie Howe. While his Newcastle record in isolation would earn him a spot in seventh place, his time with Bournemouth drags his record down to 1.29 points per game which places him 12th on the list.

Unsurprisingly, the three managers at the bottom of the pile are each in charge of the newly promoted teams. Vincent Kompany has the worst record in the league, averaging a mere 0.57 points per game.

Rob Edwards and Chris Wilder are both slightly better off than the Burnley manager, although they have each averaged less than a point per game in the top flight.

After crunching all the numbers, here’s the full breakdown of every Premier League boss and how their points per game records stack up against one another.

1. Pep Guardiola – 2.33 PPG
2. Jurgen Klopp – 2.12 PPG
3. Ange Postecoglou – 1.9 PPG
4. Mikel Arteta – 1.88 PPG
5. Unai Emery – 1.84 PPG
6. Erik ten Hag – 1.81 PPG
7. Mauricio Pochettino – 1.76 PPG
8. Roberto De Zerbi – 1.5 PPG
9. David Moyes – 1.43 PPG
10. Nuno Espirito Santo – 1.41 PPG
11. Thomas Frank – 1.32 PPG
12. Eddie Howe – 1.29 PPG
13. Andoni Iraola – 1.25 PPG
14. Marco Silva – 1.24 PPG
15. Roy Hodgson – 1.23 PPG
16. Gary O’Neil – 1.18 PPG
17. Sean Dyche – 1.12 PPG
18. Chris Wilder – 0.99 PPG
19. Rob Edwards – 0.9 PPG
20. Vincent Kompany – 0.57 PPG

READ NEXT: Ranking every Premier League manager on how they’d fare in The Traitors

TRY A QUIZ: Can you name every Chelsea manager in Premier League history?