File photo dated 19-03-2023 of Arsenal's Bukayo Saka who has signed a "new long-term contract" with Arsenal, the Premier League club have announced. Issue date: Tuesday May 23, 2023.

Where Bukayo Saka now ranks in Premier League’s top-paid players

Bukayo Saka has signed a new contract at Arsenal, tying down his future at the Emirates until 2027. But where does his new deal place him among the Premier League’s top-paid players?

The Hale End academy graduate will be the highest earner in Mikel Arteta’s squad, with The Athletic’s David Ornstein reporting that his new five-year contract is worth “in the region of £15million”.

Last summer’s marquee signing Gabriel Jesus was previously the Gunners’ top earner, followed by Thomas Partey and – having also signed a bumper new deal in recent weeks – Gabriel Martinelli.

“I’m just really happy,” Saka told Arsenal’s official website after signing the deal.

“There’s been a lot of talking and it’s been a while, but I’m here now. I think this is the right club, the right place to make the next step. It’s a beautiful club – look where we are.

“For me, it’s about achieving my personal ambitions; how much I push myself and demand from myself each game, week in, week out. Then I have all the right people around me in terms of family, and when I come to the training ground, my teammates, the coaching staff.

“I think I have everything I need to become the best player I can be, and that’s why I’m happy to stay here and be here for the future, because I really believe that we can achieve big things.”

But how does Saka’s new contract stack up against those of English football’s most established stars?

The 21-year-old doesn’t quite crack the Premier League’s top 10 highest earners, which is dominated by players from Manchester City, Manchester United and Chelsea.

Man City talisman Kevin De Bruyne is the top earner with a whopping annual salary of over £20million. Manchester United’s David de Gea isn’t far behind, although the Spanish goalkeeper’s current deal expires this summer and he’s reportedly set for a considerable pay cut if he extends his stay at Old Trafford.

Chelsea stalwart N’Golo Kante is currently earning about as much as Saka’s new deal, but he’s out of contract at the end of the season.

Here’s the list in full:

1. Kevin De Bruyne – £20.8million
2. David de Gea – £19.5million
3. Erling Haaland – £19.5million
4. Jadon Sancho – £18.2million
5. Mohamed Salah – £18.2million
6. Raphael Varane – £17.6million
7. Raheem Sterling – £16.9million
8. Casemiro – £15.6million
9. Jack Grealish – £15.6million
10. Kalidou Koulibaly – £15.3million
11. N’Golo Kante – £15million
NEW: 12. Bukayo Saka – £15million
13. Gabriel Jesus – £13.7million
14. Anthony Martial – £13million
15. John Stones – £13million

READ NEXT: 10 Arsenal greats on Bukayo Saka: ‘He’d walk into the Invincibles team’

TRY A QUIZ: Can you name Arsenal’s XI from Mikel Arteta’s first match as boss?