Comparing the records of every AC Milan manager since Carlo Ancelotti

Quick Reads

Gennaro Gattuso became AC Milan‘s 10th coach in 10 years on Monday when he was confirmed as the replacement for Vincenzo Montella.

Montella was axed with the club in seventh place in Serie A, 18 points off leaders Napoli.

That alone is bad enough, but their form is especially disappointing given it comes off the back of huge investment during the summer, when Leonardo Bonucci, Andre Silva and Hakan Calhanoglu headlined recruitment which totalled in excess of £150million.

Since Carlo Ancelotti guided Milan to Champions League glory in 2007, only Massimiliano Allegri has enjoyed trophy success as manager. He was sacked in 2014 but subsequently appointed at Juventus, with whom the coach has won three Serie A titles and guided the Bianconeri to two Champions League finals.

But, after Allegri, five coaches have now been axed as Milan look to bring back the glory days under their new ownership. We compare how each of the last 10 coaches performed to see what acts Gattuso has to follow….

Most successful coaches by win percentage
Carlo Ancelotti: 56.67%
Massimiliano Allegri: 51.12%
Vincenzo Montella: 50%
Sinisa Mihajlovic: 50%
Clarence Seedorf: 50%
Leonardo: 47.92%
Filippo Inzaghi: 35%
Cristian Brocchi: 28.57%

Most successful coaches by points per game
Carlo Ancelotti: 1.94
Massimiliano Allegri: 1.81
Sinisa Mihajlovic: 1.78
Vincenzo Montella: 1.75
Leonardo: 1.71
Clarence Seedorf: 1.59
Filippo Inzaghi: 1.38
Cristian Brocchi: 1.14

• • • • 

READ: Fallen Giants: Lamenting the loss of Milan as European heavyweights

• • • • 

Carlo Ancelotti
Appointed Nov 6, 2001
Resigned May 31, 2009
Length of tenure: 2762 days (seven years, six months, 23 days)
Games in charge: 420
Points per game: 1.94
Win percentage: 56.67%
Honours: Champions League 02-03 and 06-07; Serie A 2003-04; UEFA Super Cup 2003 and 2007; FIFA Club World Cup 2007.

Appointed July 1, 2009
Sacked May 17, 2010
Length of tenure: 320 days (10 months, 17 days)
Games in charge: 48
Points per game: 1.71
Win percentage: 47.92%
Honours won: None

Massimiliano Allegri
Appointed June 25, 2010
Sacked January 13, 2014
Length of tenure: 1298 days (three years, six months, 19 days)
Games in charge: 178
Points per game: 1.81
Win percentage: 51.12%
Honours won: Serie A 2010-11

Clarence Seedorf
Appointed Jan 16, 2014
Sacked June 9, 2014
Length of tenure: 144 days (four months, 24 days)
Games in charge: 22
Points per game: 1.59
Win percentage: 50%
Honours won: None

Filippo Inzaghi
Appointed June 9, 2014
Sacked Jun 16, 2015
Length of tenure: 372 days (One year, one week)
Games in charge: 40
Points per game: 1.38
Win percentage: 35%
Honours won: None

Sinisa Mihajlovic
Appointed June 16, 2015
Sacked April 12, 2016
Length of tenure: 301 days (nine months, 27 days)
Games in charge: 37
Points per game: 1.78
Win percentage: 50%
Honours won: None

Cristian Brocchi
Appointed April 13, 2016
Sacked June 30, 2016
Length of tenure: 78 days (two months, 17 days)
Games in charge: 7
Points per game: 1.14
Win percentage: 28.57%
Honours won: None

Vincenzo Montella
Appointed July 1, 2016
Sacked November 27, 2017
Length of tenure: 514 days One year, four months, 27 days)
Games in charge: 64
Points per game: 1.75
Win percentage: 50%
Honours won: None

More from Planet Football

21 of the best quotes on Paolo Maldini: ‘His soul belongs to Milan’

A forensic analysis of George Weah’s solo goal against Verona, 21 years on

Milan 93-94, Juve 01-02 & the defences which defined the golden age of Serie A

‘Everyone thought we’d get pumped’ – Michael Duberry recalls Leeds 1 Milan 0

Can you name every Italian player to appear in the Premier League?