Ranking every Man Utd boss under the Glazers by PPG: Solskjaer third

Quick Reads

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s status as a Manchester United legend hasn’t been enough to appease some of their fans after a difficult start to the season. 

Solskjaer replaced Jose Mourinho United manager in December 2018 but is yet to win a single trophy while in the Old Trafford dugout.

Despite signing Raphael Varane, Jadon Sancho and Cristiano Ronaldo, they’ve already lost four games in all competitions in 2021-22 and fans are venting their frustrations.

According to reports, his position as manager is 100% secure as things stand but the Glazer family may need to act if he doesn’t turn things around.

We’ve ranked every United manager in the Glazer era by their Premier League points-per-game record. Note: we’ve not included Ryan Giggs who was only in charge for four games. 

5. David Moyes

Games: 34
Win rate: 50%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.67

READ: Where are they now? Manchester United’s last XI picked by David Moyes

4. Louis van Gaal

Games: 76
Win rate: 51.3%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.78

3. Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

Games: 105
Win rate: 52.4%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.84

READ: What 16 Man Utd players have said in praise of Solskjaer: ‘We love him’

2. Jose Mourinho

Games: 93
Win rate: 53.8%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.89

1. Sir Alex Ferguson

Games: 305
Win rate: 70.5%
Points-per-game (PPG): 2.27

More Manchester United

Where are they now? Sir Alex Ferguson’s last 10 Man Utd signings

Remembering when fans tried to buy Manchester United from the Glazers

Can you name Man Utd’s XI from the 2008 CL final against Chelsea?

The story of Nick Culkin at Man Utd and the shortest ever Prem career