Ranking every player to wear No.7 for Man Utd in the Premier League

Quick Reads

Edinson Cavani is the latest player to be handed Manchester United’s iconic No.7 – but how have the incumbents of the shirt fared in the Premier League era?

Just nine players have worn the jersey since official squad numbers were introduced in the 1993-94 season, but they’ve not all been successful.

We’ve ranked every player to wear the No.7 shirt for United in the Premier League era from worst to best.

9. Alexis Sanchez

The less said about this one the better.

Sanchez arrived at United in January 2018 amid high expectations and on a reported £400,000-per-week contract.

But the Chile international looked like a shadow of his former self at Old Trafford, scoring just five goals in 45 appearances for the Red Devils before being shipped out on loan to Inter and then landing himself a big pay off to p*ss off permanently.


READ: Alexis Sanchez & the tragedy of seeing great players reduced to punchlines

8. Memphis Depay

Depay was tipped to be the next big thing after joining United from PSV in 2015 and reportedly requested the No.7 shirt.

The winger provided a few flashes of his quality but failed to establish himself as a regular player under either Louis van Gaal or Jose Mourinho.

He scored just two Premier League goals for the club before joining Lyon on a permanent deal in January 2017.

7. Angel Di Maria

Di Maria was excellent during his first few weeks at United – his fabulous chipped goal against Leicester City was a particular highlight – and the club looked to have pulled off a coup.

But everything went downhill from there and the Argentina international fell out of favour under Louis van Gaal after struggling for consistency.

He spent just one underwhelming season at Old Trafford and joined PSG for £44.3million in 2015.

“I only stayed one year. It wasn’t the best period of my career, or they didn’t let me have my best time there,” Di Maria told France Bleu in February 2019.

“There were problems with the coach at the time. But thanks to God, I was able to come to PSG and be myself again.”

6. Antonio Valencia

Having won United’s Player of the Year award in 2011-12, Valencia was then handed the prestigious No.7 shirt.

But the pressure seemed to weigh him down and the winger struggled to find his best form in 2012-13, scoring one goal in 30 Premier League appearances.

He decided to vacate the shirt in 2013 and found a new lease of life after reverting back to his old No.25.

“It was more to do with the fact that 25 was the number I had when I first came to the club and I played well wearing that,” Valencia told the Daily Mirror in 2013.

“So I thought, ‘Why don’t I go back to 25?’ I had good times and good fortune in that shirt.”

5. Edinson Cavani

Despite not spending too long in the No.7, Cavani is doing himself justice with a place in our top five.

Since arriving from Paris Saint-Germain in the autumn of 2020, he has spent a fair bit of time on the sidelines with various knocks and strains. But when he has been fit, he’s led the line with aplomb, showing his fine movement and sharp finishing.

Reports suggest he wants to move to Boca Juniors, but after United’s 2-1 win over Tottenham in April, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer remarked: “There’s no secret we want to keep him.”

4. Michael Owen

Owen arrived at Old Trafford during the twilight of his career, and fans were shocked when the former Liverpool star claimed the No.7 shirt.

The striker found himself behind Wayne Rooney and Dimitar Berbatov in the pecking order and injury problems plagued his three years at the club.

He still scored 17 goals in 52 appearances, and that 96th-minute winner against Manchester City in 2009 will live long in the memory.

READ: Michael Owen at Man Utd: Worth it just for *that* derby winner

3. David Beckham

The fact that he’s only third on this list says a lot about the top two.

A member of the Class of 92, Beckham was already an established first-team member when he switched to the No.7 shirt in 1997.

The midfielder played a starring role in the club’s greatest ever season as United won the Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League in 1998-99.

Despite his acrimonious exit for Real Madrid in 2003, the 45-year-old is still remembered fondly at Old Trafford.

READ: 17 of the best quotes on David Beckham: ‘True winners are relentless’

2. Eric Cantona

In 1993, Cantona became the first United player to be officially assigned the No.7 in the Premier League. The forward left an incredible legacy for others to follow.

He was the catalyst for their success and helped the club to four Premier League titles and two FA Cups before announcing his shock retirement in 1997.

The former France international had scored 82 goals in 185 appearances for United and is heralded as one of the club’s all-time greats.

READ: The story of Eric Cantona and his incredible impact on Man Utd

1. Cristiano Ronaldo

Ronaldo had some huge boots to fill when he inherited the shirt from Beckham in 2003, but the winger proved to be the perfect successor.

He developed into one of the best players in the world, winning three Premier League titles and the Champions League during his six years at Old Trafford.

The Portugal international followed in Beckham’s footsteps once again by joining Real Madrid in an £80million deal in 2009.

More Manchester United

Michael Owen at Man Utd: Worth it just for *that* derby winner

The story of Eric Cantona and his incredible impact on Man Utd

Can you name Man Utd’s top goalscorer from every Premier League season?

The frightening stats behind Ronaldo, Rooney & Tevez’s 07-08 Man Utd season

Planet Football Stories