Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson looks on as they celebrate winning the Premier League. Old Trafford, May 2013.

The PL teams with the most trophies since Sir Alex Ferguson retired in 2013

Ten years have passed since Sir Alex Ferguson took charge of his last Manchester United match.

The club had been English football’s most dominant force during the legendary Scottish coach’s long reign, winning 13 Premier League titles and countless more silverware between 1992 and 2013. But things took a dramatic shift following his departure.

It’s been a decade since United last won the title, with Ferguson delivering their last in his final season at the helm. We’ve taken a look at the six English clubs to have won trophies since 2013 and put them in order. We’ve only included major honours, not including the Community Shield or Super Cup.

6. Leicester City – 2

  • 1 x Premier League
  • 1 x FA Cup

It’s still difficult to believe that Leicester City have won the Premier League more recently than United.

The Foxes were still in the Championship during Ferguson’s final season at United. They suffered play-off heartbreak in 2012-13, courtesy of Troy Deeney’s unforgettable last-minute winner for Watford, but they made it up the following year with a 102-point tally.

Having achieved a great escape in their first season back in the top flight, Claudio Ranieri was then appointed and masterminded the most miraculous title triumph in living memory.

A second major honour followed in 2021, with Brendan Rodgers leading them to victory over Chelsea in the FA Cup final.

QUIZ: Can you name every player to appear for Leicester in title-winning season?

5. Manchester United – 4

  • 1 x FA Cup
  • 2 x League Cup
  • 1 x Europa League

Trophyless seasons at Old Trafford were a rare occurrence during Ferguson’s tenure but they’ve become increasingly commonplace in recent years.

Successor David Moyes did kick things off by winning the Community Shield, beating FA Cup holders Wigan Athletic at Wembley, but that was the only trophy he got his hands on as United finished a shocking 7th – their worst finish of the Premier League era in 2013-14.

Louis van Gaal later delivered the FA Cup in his final game in charge, while Jose Mourinho led United to a ‘treble’ of the Community Shield, League Cup and Europa League in 2016-17 but the club then suffered a trophy drought of almost six years – eventually ended by Erik ten Hag’s Red Devils with victory over Newcastle in the 2023 League Cup final. They were unable to follow that up in the FA Cup final.

4. Arsenal – 4

  • 4 x FA Cup

Arsene Wenger’s Gunners didn’t win a single piece of silverware during Ferguson’s last eight years in the game – consistently finishing 3rd or 4th in the Premier League between 2005 and 2013 while failing to win any of the cups.

That run eventually ended with a dramatic 3-2 comeback victory over Hull City in the 2014 FA Cup final. They’d add a couple more over the next three years, while former captain Mikel Arteta delivered another during his first season in charge in 2019-20.

3. Liverpool – 4

  • 1 x Premier League
  • 1 x FA Cup
  • 1 x League Cup
  • 1 x Champions League

Liverpool came agonisingly close to winning their first Premier League title back in 2013-14, but they just missed out after that Gerrard slip against Chelsea.

That was one of six successive trophyless campaigns after winning the League Cup back in 2012, while in that period they finished runners-up in League Cup, Europa League and Champions League finals under Jurgen Klopp.

Klopp has since delivered every piece of silverware going, starting with the Champions League in 2019. The long-awaited Premier League arrived the following year, and while the Reds fell just short of the quadruple in 2021-22 they did manage to complete the set by lifting both domestic cups.

2. Chelsea – 6

  • 2 x Premier League
  • 1 x FA Cup
  • 1 x League Cup
  • 1 x Europa League
  • 1 x Champions League

Chelsea have had an up-and-down time of it over the past decade, oscillating wildly between success and failure, winning two Premier League titles but finishing as low as 10th and almost certainly no higher than 11th in 2022-23.

The Blues have had eight different managers since 2013, but chopping and changing seems to work for them – alongside their league titles they’ve won every cup they can, including two major European honours.

1. Manchester City – 14

  • 6 x Premier League
  • 2 x FA Cup
  • 6 x League Cup

Manchester City had established themselves as English football’s nascent force in Ferguson’s final years, winning the FA Cup and Premier League in Roberto Mancini’s time in charge.

Another league title and a League Cup followed under Manuel Pellegrini in the years immediately following Ferguson’s retirement, but it wasn’t until Pep Guardiola’s arrival in 2016 that City became the all-conquering juggernaut they are today – England’s most dominant club since United’s pomp.

A fifth Premier League title in six years has been secured, followed by another FA Cup – extra sweet against their old rivals. It will taking something special from Inter in the upcoming Champions League final to stop them claiming a historic treble.

READ NEXT: Comparing Guardiola’s trophy haul at Man City to Ferguson’s at Man Utd

TRY A QUIZ: Can you name Man Utd’s top 30 goalscorers under Sir Alex Ferguson?